Anorexia Nervosa

In 2013, the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5) changed the criteria for Anorexia Nervosa. Here are the current DSM-5 criteria:

  • Significantly low body weight
  • Intense fear of gaining weight or becoming fat
  • Disturbance in the way in which one’s body weight or shape is experienced, undue influence of body weight or shape on self-evaluation, or persistent lack of recognition of the seriousness of the current low body weight.

There are two subtypes of the anorexia nervosa:

  • Restricting: only caloric restriction and exercise
  • Binge Eating/Purging: Binge Eating and or purging also present

Anorexia Nervosa versus Bulimia Nervosa

**Many people believe that those with anorexia nervosa do not eat while those with bulimia nervosa binge and purge. However, those in either categorly can engage in binge eating and purging. The most notable difference is that those with anorexia nervosa are at an unhealthily low body weight. One can not be diagnosed with anorexia nervosa and bulimia nervosa at the same time.**